Local implementation

A key driver of successful transition is implementation at the local level.

While Community Services activity has shifted from being organised along seven regions to 15 local districts, OOHC transition implementation remains organised along the former seven regions across NSW, with Regional Implementation Groups (RIGs) operating in each region.

RIG membership includes Community Services and all out-of-home care (OOHC) agencies providing services in that region. RIGs are co-chaired by the Community Services Regional Director and an NGO-nominated provider.

Each RIG has been actively implementing the transition locally according to its Stage 2 Regional Implementation Plans (RTP).

Transition across NSW

Hunter & Central Coast

Hunter & Central Coast is a diverse region incorporating metropolitan, regional and rural areas. It covers four areas: Newcastle/Lake Macquarie, Lower Hunter, Upper Hunter and the Central Coast, and has 11 Community Service Centres (CSCs).

Metro Central

Metro Central is a culturally diverse region whose focus is on expanding strong interagency partnerships. It covers Northern and Southern Sydney, the Inner West and South East Sydney. Metro Central has eight CSCs.

Metro South West

Metro South West is a dynamic, vibrant, diverse and multicultural region that has six CSCs.

Metro West

Metro West has the highest Australian urban population of Aboriginal people as well as people from many different cultural backgrounds. The region covers the Nepean, Cumberland and Blacktown/Baulkham Hills areas. There are eight CSCs in the region.


Northern region is a solution-focused region that covers three areas: Far North Coast, Mid North Coast and New England. There are 14 Community Services Centres (CSCs) in the region.


Southern region is a divided into two networks: Illawarra and Southern Highlands, and covers six areas: Illawarra, Shoalhaven, Bega, Batemans Bay, Cooma and Tablelands. There are 10 CSCs in the region.


Western region is geographically diverse and covers approximately 70 per cent of NSW, in remote, rural and urban settings. It covers the following networks: Riverina/Murray, Central West and Orana/Far West, and has 24 CSCs.


To report suspected child abuse or neglect, call the Child Protection Helpline on 132 111 (24 hours/7 days)